No Retina
XS Screen (480px)
SM+ Screen
SM Screen (768px)
SM- Screen
MD+ Screen
MD Screen (992px)
MD- Screen
LG+ Screen
LG Screen (1200px)
LG- Screen
XL+ Screen (1600px)

Mangan and Steffey Win Golden Ski Awards

By U.S. Ski & Snowboard
May, 3 2017

The North American Snowsports Journalists Association - East Region has picked Patricia Mangan (Derby, NY – Holimont Race Team) and George Steffey (Lyme, NH – Stratton Mountain School) as the 2017 Don A. Metivier Golden Ski Award winners.

Since 1969, NASJA-East (formerly the Eastern Ski Writers Association) has awarded the Don A. Metivier Golden Ski Award to the most promising male and female junior alpine racers in the eastern U.S each season.

Patricia Mangan (right) finished third in the 2017 U.S. Alpine Championships. (U.S. Ski Team-Reese Brown)

Patricia Mangan

Patricia Mangan, a member of the U.S. Ski Team C Team, had her Audi FIS Ski World Cup debut in November at Killington. Among her season highlights, she stood on six NorAm podiums and took the overall super G and alpine combined NorAm titles. Mangan also made the Junior World Championships team and finished top 20 in the giant slalom. Wrapping up the season, she was third in the U.S. Alpine Championships GS. Mangan is also a biomedical engineering student at Dartmouth College. 

George Steffey races in the 2016 U.S. Alpine Champs. (U.S. Ski Team)

George Steffey

George Steffey, a member of the U.S. Ski Team D Team, also had a strong season, finishing eighth in slalom and 16th overall in NorAm rankings. He also qualified for the World Junior Championships team, taking 11th place in the slalom after starting 49th. He finished his year taking 11th at the U.S. Alpine Championships giant slalom, making him the 2017 junior national champion in GS. Steffey is also a student at Dartmouth College.

“The Golden Ski Award is the oldest honor given to junior alpine ski racers that exists today,” says Jim Gregory, Chair of the NASJA-East Golden Ski Award Committee. “We are proud this year to honor Patricia Mangan and George Steffey, two extraordinary athletes, and we look forward to watching them pursue their goals and set the bar even higher in the sport we all love so much.”

The Golden Ski Award is named it in memory of long-time snow-sports journalist Don A. Metivier, former editor of Ski Racing Magazine. The awards will be presented at a reception at the New England Ski Museum on Friday, June 9th from 5 to 7 p.m. ET.

Previous Golden Ski Award Winners:

1969: Tyler Palmer, Karen Middleton 
1970: Charles Bent, Karen Middleton 
1971: Rod Taylor, Judy McNealus
1972: Laurent Gaudin, Jody Palmer 
1973: Jerry McNealus, no female winner 
1974: No award
1975: Scott Light, Holly Flanders 
1976-2007: Award lost
2008: Bump Heldman, Julia Ford
2009: Nolan Kasper, Julia Ford
2010: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Julia Ford 
2011: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin 
2012: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin 
2013: Kieffer Christianson, Mikaela Shiffrin 
2014: Sam Morse, Alice Merryweather 
2015: Drew Duffy, Nina O’Brien
2016: Ben Ritchie, Cecily Decker