No Retina
XS Screen (480px)
SM+ Screen
SM Screen (768px)
SM- Screen
MD+ Screen
MD Screen (992px)
MD- Screen
LG+ Screen
LG Screen (1200px)
LG- Screen
XL+ Screen (1600px)

2022 Junior, U23 World Championships Cross Country Teams Announced

By U.S. Ski & Snowboard
January, 25 2022
Sydney Palmer-Leger
Sydney Palmer-Leger, who kicked off her season competing Period 1 on the World Cup tour, leads a talented group of U.S. cross country athletes scheduled to compete at the 2022 U23 and Junior World Cross Country Championships. (Modica/NordicFocus)

U.S. Ski & Snowboard has announced 24 athletes to represent the United States at the FIS Junior & U23 World Cross Country Championships Feb. 22-27 in Lygna, Norway.

“Following a year filled with constant changes, I am so pleased to see a team fielded with such depth among our roster,” said U.S. Ski & Snowboard Head Cross Country Development Coach, Greta Anderson. “We have several spots on this team that were declined because of athletes who are headed to the Olympic Games next week. This progress speaks volumes about our upcoming athletes ability not only to adapt but to thrive in uncertain environments and seize opportunities when they present themselves. We are taking this team to Norway, the ‘homeland’ of skiing, and cannot wait to see what they can do at the Championship.” 

The following athletes have been selected to represent the United States at the upcoming FIS U23 and Junior World Nordic Championships.

U23 World Championship Team


  • Abigail Jarzin (University of Utah/Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Lucinda Anderson (University of New Hampshire/Golden Valley, Minnesota)
  • Anabel Needham (Michigan Tech University/Houghton, Michigan)
  • Rena Schwartz (Dartmouth Ski Team/Middlesex, Vermont)
  • Novie McCabe (University of Utah/Winthrop, Wash.) **
  • Sophia Laukli (University of Utah/Yarmouth, Maine) **


  • Zanden McMullen (Montana State University/Anchorage, Alaska)
  • John Steel Hagenbuch (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation/Ketchum, Idaho)
  • Noel Keeffe (University of Utah/Steamboat Springs, Colorado)
  • JC Schoonmaker (Auburn Ski Club/Tahoe City, Calif.)**
  • Benjamin Ogden (University of Vermont/Landgrove, Vt.)**
  • Gus Schumacher (Alaska Winter Stars/Anchorage, Alaska)**
  • Luke Jager (University of Utah/Anchorage, Alaska)**

Junior World Championship Team


  • Sydney Palmer-Leger (University of Utah/Park City, Utah)
  • Kate Oldham (Middlebury College/Carbondale, Colorado)
  • Nina Seemann (DartmouthCraftsbury, Vermont)
  • Nina Schamberger (Summit Nordic Ski Club/Leadville, Colorado)
  • Samantha Smith (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation/Sun Valley, ID.)
  • Annie McColgan (University of Vermont/Bend, Oregon)


  • Finn Sweet (University of Vermont/Craftsbury Nordic Ski Club/Waterbury, Vermont)
  • Will Koch (University of Colorado/Peru, Vermont)
  • Michael Earnhart (APU Nordic Ski Center/Eagle River, Alaska)
  • Brian Bushey (University of Utah/Green Mountain Valley School/Waitsfield, Vermont)
  • Walker Hall (University of Utah/Methow Valley Nordic Ski Education Foundation/Winthrop, Wash.)
  • Alexander Maurer (University of Colorado/Anchorage, Alaska)

** - Denotes a ‘Decline’ of their respective spot on the team roster due to scheduling conflicts between the Olympic Winter Games & NCAA Regional Championships

The following staff has been nominated for the JWC, and U23 World Championships, led by US SKI TEAM Development Coach Greta Anderson and Sport Manager Bryan Fish.

The Junior World / U23  Championships will be held in Lygna, Norway on February 21-27th, 2022.


  • Greta Anderson (US SKI AND SNOWBOARD)
  • Bryan Fish  (US SKI AND SNOWBOARD)
  • Julia Hayes (Bridger Ski Foundation)
  • Olof Hedberg (Summit Nordic Ski Club)
  • Elizabeth Larkins (Montana State University)
  • Anson Moxness (Nordic Ski Association Anchorage)
  • Jack Novak (Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Center)
  • Patrick O’Brien (Stratton Mountain School)
  • Paul Smith (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)
  • August Teague (Aspen Valley Ski Club)

*Trip Supported by Medical Staff: Dr. Kate Eichten & Dr. Elizabeth Smith*