No Retina
XS Screen (480px)
SM+ Screen
SM Screen (768px)
SM- Screen
MD+ Screen
MD Screen (992px)
MD- Screen
LG+ Screen
LG Screen (1200px)
LG- Screen
XL+ Screen (1600px)
Countdown to the 2022 Olympic Winter Games

Ritchie, Zimmerman Earn 2020 Golden Ski Awards

By U.S. Ski & Snowboard
July, 23 2020
Ben Ritchie Wins Golden Ski Award
Ben Ritchie (pictured above with teammate Luke Winters in Schladming, Austria at the FIS Ski World Cup) has been named Golden Ski Award winner for the third time. (Max Hall)

Each season, the New England Ski Museum presents the Golden Ski Award to the most promising male and female junior alpine racers in the eastern U.S. The awards will be presented at a reception and location to be determined at a later date. The ski museum is pleased to present this year’s award to Zoe Zimmermann and Ben Ritchie.

Zoe Zimmermann of Gilford, N.H. and Burke Mountain Academy set the tone for her 2019-20 season when she won the back-to-back early season FIS slaloms at Sunday River, Maine in early December. The rest of her season was filled with success. Some of her most notable results include: several top-10 finishes at NorAms (including two top-five finishes at the NorAm parallel slaloms at Craigleith, Canada and the National Winter Activity Center in New Jersey), top-five finishes at the Harvard and UVM Carnivals, and a fourth-place finish at the Junior Nationals super-G at Snowbasin. Despite the shortened season, Zoe proved her skill and talent, and in March she was named to the Land Rover U.S. Alpine Ski Team C Team.

This is Ben’s third Golden Ski Award. Ben Ritchie of Waitsfield, Vt. and Green Mountain Valley School started off the 2019-2020 season strong with a fourth-place finish at the NorAm slaloms in Copper Mountain. A few weeks later, he placed in the top-five of back-to-back NorAm slaloms in Nakiska, including a first-place finish in one of the two competitions. The following month, he won another NorAm at Stowe, and later went on to earn several more podium finishes on the NorAm circuit, as well as two World Cup Slalom starts in Austria and Switzerland. In March, Ben was renamed to the 2021 Alpine B Team for the second year in a row. 

The Golden Ski Award has been presented to the top junior male and female skiers in the East since 1969, the year after the modern World Cup circuit started. Many of the Golden Ski winners have gone on to World Cup and Olympic gold as well. In 1975, the Golden Ski was “lost.” In 2007, the New England Ski Museum was given some artifacts, and in that donation was the original Golden Ski. ESWA then revitalized the honor.

“The Golden Ski Award is the oldest honor given to junior alpine ski racers that exists today,” says Jim Gregory, chair of the New England Ski Museum’s Golden Ski Award Committee. “We are proud this year to honor Zoe Zimmermann and three-time winner Ben Ritchie, two extraordinary athletes. We look forward to watching them pursue their goals and set the bar even higher in the sport we all love so much.”

Previous Golden Ski Award Winners:
1969: Tyler Palmer, Karen Middleton
1970: Charles Bent, Karen Middleton
1971: Rod Taylor, Judy McNealus
1972: Laurent Gaudin, Jody Palmer 
1973: Jerry McNealus, No female winner
1974: No award
1975: Scott Light, Holly Flanders
1976-2007: Award Lost
2008: Bump Heldman, Julia Ford
2009: Nolan Kasper, Julia Ford
2010: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Julia Ford
2011: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin
2012: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin
2013: Kieffer Christianson, Mikaela Shiffrin
2014: Sam Morse, Alice Merryweather
2015: Drew Duffy, Nina O’Brien
2016: Ben Ritchie, Cecily Decker
2017: George Steffey, Patricia Mangan
2018: Jimmy Krupka, Abigail Jewett
2019: Ben Ritchie, Claire Thomas

Release courtesy of New England Ski Museum.